Chefs Michael Lomonaco and Alfred Portale take a moment at C-CAP Benefit 2009
C-CAP’s 20th Anniversary Benefit features NYC Celebrity Chefs and High School Student Volunteers at Gala Tasting Event

On Wednesday, February 24, 2010, 6:30 to 9:00 p.m., at PIER SIXTY at Chelsea Piers, The Careers through Culinary Arts Program (C-CAP), the non-profit organization that since 1990 has awarded high school students $28 million in scholarships, and donated $2.3 million worth of supplies and equipment to classrooms, will host its 20th Anniversary Celebration.

This year, C-CAP is honoring chef, author and TV personality Marcus Samuelsson for his extraordinary achievements and contributions to the culinary industry, his long time dedication to C-CAP and his commitment to nurturing the next generation of chefs. As this year’s honoree, Marcus Samuelsson will receive the C-CAP Honors Award for his ongoing work with C-CAP providing internships, job shadows and jobs for students, and serving as a judge at the annual C-CAP NY Cooking Competition for Scholarships.

Past recipients of the C-CAP Honors Award include Drew Nieporent, Alfred Portale, Lidia Bastianich, Thomas Keller, Charlie Palmer, Danny Meyer & Michael Romano, Daniel Boulud, Jacques Pepin, Egidiana & Sirio Maccioni, Nina & Tim Zagat, and Saul Zabar & Stanley Zabar.

Richard Grausman, Founder and President of the 20-year-old non-profit Careers through Culinary Arts Program (C-CAP) invites you to join him for this gala evening and says, “Each year our supporters gather at the sold-out event to enjoy culinary masterpieces prepared by New York’s top chefs. While enjoying the fabulous food, they are supporting C-CAP’s mission to provide underserved high school students with training, scholarships, and jobs in the restaurant and foodservice industry,” says. C-CAP has worked with over 200 culinary teachers, 200,000 high school students whom they’ve taught, and 2,000 C-CAP scholarship winners who went to college. We’re proud that more and more qualified students are going into the industry.”

The industry is supporting C-CAP as never before, and 34 restaurants will participate in this year’s walk-around tasting. The event will feature long-time favorites as well as the city’s hottest new star chefs. More than 60 New York City C-CAP high school culinary students are expected to assist the chefs of these renowned restaurants. The evening’s festivities will also include a silent auction including once-in-a-lifetime culinary and travel packages.

CBS2 News Co-Anchor Maurice DuBois will be the Master of Ceremonies, with Event Chair Christina Grdovic, Vice President/Publisher, Food & Wine Magazine. The vice-chairs for the event are Judith and Stanley Zabar and Susan and Richard Grausman.

Participating Chefs: Chef Philip DeMaiolo, Abigail Kirsch; Chef Jason Weiner, Almond NY;
Chef Marcus Jernmark, Aquavit; Chef Bill Peet, Aretsky’s Patroon; Chef Brandon Kida, Asiate; Chef Christopher Lee, Aureole; Chef Jonathan Waxman, Barbuto; Chef Waldy Malouf, Beacon; Chef Laurent Tourondel, BLT Prime; Chef Dan Barber, Blue Hill; Chef Lon Symensma, Buddakan NYC; Chef Milton Enriquez, Compass; Chef Tom Colicchio, craft ; Pastry Chef Dominque Ansel, Daniel; Chef John Fraser, Dovetail; Chef Ed Brown, eighty-one; Chef Fortunato Nicotra, Felidia; Chef Justin Bogle, Gilt; Chef Alfred Portale, Gotham Bar and Grill; Pastry Chef Nancy Olson, Gramercy Tavern; Chef Marc Murphy, Landmarc; Michael McCarty, Michael’s Restaurant; Chef Matt Hoyle, Nobu Fifty Seven; Chef Ben Pollinger, Oceana; Pastry Chef Alfred Stephens*, Olives NY; Chef Craig Koketsu, Park Avenue Winter; Chef Brian O’Donohoe, Primehouse New York; Chef Jimmy Lappalainen, Riingo; Pastry Chef Sarabeth Levine, Sarabeth’s; Chef Odette Fada, SD 26; Chef Shaun Hergatt, SHO Shaun Hergatt; Michael Tong, Shun Lee Palace; Chef Bill Telepan, Telepan; Chef Carmen Quagliata, Union Square Café. Champagne and wine donated by The Charmer Sunbelt Group

Careers through Culinary Arts Program (C-CAP) 20th Anniversary Benefit is open to the public.
Tickets for general admission are $500 (limited availability); tickets for VIP admission are $600 and $1,000.

For tickets, more information about the event, and sponsorship opportunities,
call 212-974-7111 or visit: