VODKA COCKTAILS AT THE READY

 42BELOW Presents the Cocktail World Cup National Finals

Sunday night 3/7 is going to be one of those evenings that, where no matter what city you live in, you might as well stay home and drink wine because your favorite bartender is going to be in NYC, competing at the 42Below Vodka Cocktail World Cup National Finals. www.42below.com

We’re not naming names (okay, we will eventually), but we are willing to say that if you’re invited to the Ace Hotel (www.acehotel.com) on Sunday night you might have a Lynn House, Thomas Waugh, Todd Thrasher, Philip Green, Paul Sevigny, Jason Brown, Matthew Coughlin, Sean Hoard (and more) sighting.

Who knows which ones the august panel of judges (Dale DeGroffwww.kingcocktail.com, Charles Ohlbaum www.bartendersacademyny.com , and Sam Talbot) will choose?  Time will tell. 

But here’s who’s in the running:

Matthew Biancaniello of Library Bar at The Roosevelt Hotel (www.hollywoodroosevelt.com) with the “Indian Summer” Cocktail

Jason Bran from The Roger Room with the “Down Under Dessert” Cocktail

Jason Brown of Sensing (www.sensingrestaurant.com) with the “Mr.Robinson”

Michael Callahan of Gitane (www.gitanerestaurant.com) with the “Frescura”

Clark Clark of Mondrian (www.mondrian-miami.com) , SOBE W Hotel, SOBE (www.WSouthBeach.com) with the “Timeless Truth”

Jennifer Constraveos of Mercadito (www.mercaditorestaurants.com) Chicago/Double A with the “Adastra”

Matthew Coughlin of Aquitaine (www.aquitaineboston.com) with the “Rosemary Sour”

Jonathan Michael Creighton of Lephare (www.lepharenola.com) with the “42 Fizz”

Charles Gilbert of Gold Room (www.goldroomatl.com) with the nameless cocktail

Ricky Gomez of the Teardrop Cocktail Lounge with the “Beeing There”

Philip Greene of The Passenger (www.passengerdc.com)  with the “The Cook Strait Sling”’

Josh Harris of 15 Romolo (www.15romolo.com) with the “Bridge to Terabithia”

Sean Hoard of PDT (www.pdtnyc.com)  with “The Bitches Brew”

Adam Hodak from Osteria Marco (www.osteriamarco.com) with his drink, “Esposti Passione di Semplicita”

Lynn House of Graham Elliott (www.grahamelliott.com) with the “Pricilla Queen of the Dessert”

Darby Kelly of B Bar at Wynn Las Vegas (www.wynnlasvegas.com) with the “Twisted Kiwi”

Michael McSorley of the Naga Cocktail Lounge (www.chantanee.com) with “The Saffron Julius”

Andrew Pollard of Noir Bar (http://www.luxor.com/nightlife/noir_bar.aspx) with the “Thai One On”
 

Paul Sevigny of Setai South Beach (www.setai.com) with the “Manuka Honey Blossom”

Daniel Schmitz of Publik with the “White Cloud”
Mark Stoddard from Happy Bitter Bar (www.happynoodlehouse.com) with his drink, “South of Brooklyn”

Todd Thrasher of PX/Restaurant Eve/The Majestic (www.restauranteve.com) with the “I have Too Much Thyme on My Hands Right Now at This Point In My Life”

Daniel Victory of Twist and The Ritz Carlton Hotel (www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/NewOrleans) with the “Honey Do List

Thomas Waugh of Death & Co. (www.deathandcompany.com) with the “Wellington Fizz”

We’ll let you know who wins and will take their drink on the road.  All the way to New Zealand for the CWC World Cup World Finals 3/23-28.

This entry was posted on Saturday, March 6th, 2010 at 6:16 am

Leave a Reply